Annual Meeting 2008: ETFO Aims to Close the Gap

She “gets the job done,” said President David Clegg in presenting her with the award. Since 1999 Perkes has served on the Waterloo ETFO Local executive in a number of capacities; she has been first vice-president for five years. She chairs multiple local committees, is a member of the local collective bargaining committee, and has been a location manager for the ETFO Summer Academy. She chairs the teacher education liaison committee for the new faculty of education at Wilfrid Laurier University. In that position, she showed “such skill, tact and dexterity she won the accolades of OTF for her work in [a] difficult situation,” said Clegg. Perkes began teaching in 1980 and spent most of her years as a French immersion teacher.

OTF fellows:

ETFO first Vice-president sam Hammond and retired ETFO staff member  Jan Moxey were named Fellows of the Ontario Teachers’ Federation for 2008.

Other award winners:

Anti-Bias Curriculum Development Award: David stocker, Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local
Arts and Culture Award: sumona Roy, Hamilton-Wentworth Teacher Local
Curriculum Development Award: ann-Marie anie and Grace Mathieson, Hamilton-Wentworth Teacher Local.
Multimedia Award – Women’s Program: Krista Harris,  Peel Teacher Local.
New Teacher Award: Vana pistiolis, Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local.

ETfO Membership awards:
Occasional Teacher of the Year: Vassa van Tol,  Peel Occasional Teacher Local.
Local Leadership Award: Terry Card, Thames Valley Occasional Teacher Local.
Newsletter Editor’s Award (multisheet): Karen Brown, Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local;  Newsletter Editor’s Award (single-sheet): sandra Emery, Hamilton-Wentworth Teacher Local;
Website of the Year Award: Blaine labelle, Upper Canada Teacher Local.
Health and Safety Activist Award: Nicholas Moxam and andrea Murik, Simcoe County Teacher Local.

Teachers Change Your life:
Neli Brady (left), a teacher with the Greater Essex County District School Board, created the winning design for this year’s poster for World Teachers’ Day. Brady is shown with Emily Noble, president of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation, which sponsored the contest. The poster is used in schools throughout the country to celebrate World Teachers’ Day, October 5.

2008 Scholarships and Bursaries*

Aboriginal Women in Education Bursary – Women’s Program: lindsay Goheen, adelle lewis, Elementary Teachers of Toronto;  suzanne Methot, Brenda Marie schonnop,  Renfrew County.

Bev Saskoley Anti-Racist Scholarship Award: Brian puddicombe,  Peel. Doctoral Scholarship Award:Katherine Wainman, Upper Grand.  Doctoral Scholarship Award – Women’s Program: sharonBallantyne, Kawartha Pine Ridge.

Educational Support/Professional Support Person Bursary: loriCress, Rainy River District ESP Local.

ETFO Bursaries (for sons and daughters of ETFO members): Tracey allen,  Waterloo Region;  sarahBoisvert, Ontario North East;  laura Cherry, laura farnworth, Emily lynch, Mireille McBride,  Upper Grand;  andrée Coutu, phillipe Coutu, Durham; anna Richards, Ottawa-Carleton; Racquel Théberge,Near North.

ETFO Bursaries (Persons with a disability; visible minorities; Aboriginal persons; lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender persons):  James East, Ryan Gibson, Jerome Trevena,  Elementary Teachers of Toronto.

ETFO Bursaries – Women’s Program (women with a disability; visible minority women; Aboriginal women; lesbian, bisexual, transgender women):  sekhon Neeru, Karen Naik, Kimphilaranh, lynn Wilkins,  Elementary Teachers of Toronto.

Master’s Scholarship: Mark andrews, Corey Jackson, York Region;  patrick fitzgerald, Ottawa-Carleton; Melanie Markin, Halton; Cara McCrae,  Thames Valley;  Jennifer-Mai peterson, Kennethscott, Elementary Teachers of Toronto.

Master’s Scholarship – Women’s Program: Rebecca Codack, Peel; patricia Douglas, Nastassiasubban, Connie Tait, Natalia Kostiw,  Elementary Teachers of Toronto;  amy Moulton, Thames Valley;  Jennifer Watt, York Region.

Women’s studies scholarship: Michele Murphy, Durham; Jacquie pinard,  Ottawa-Carleton.

*Unless otherwise indicated, recipients are members of teacher locals.


ETFO President Sam Hammond

In Canada, the wage gap persists, even when education, occupation, experience, and hours of work are consistent.

ETFO Editor Izida Zorde

The summer issue of Voice is our women’s issue, an opportunity to focus on women members, women’s programs and women leaders in ETFO and the broader community.